Absence of posts

They say that most blogs don’t last more than 6 months, and that bloggers often tire of the art or simply run out of steam/interest/material. Such was not the case with me. The Holocaust is never far from my mind. On my nightstand are several books from Holocaust survivors that serve as a constant reminder to me of the darkest spot in modern history, as does the bookmark from CANDLES Holocaust Museum that stares at me from the bookshelf just outside my bedroom.

Never forgotten are the millions of souls that were tortured and brutally murdered at the hands of Adolf Hitler and his willing assassins.

No it wasn’t for a lack of interest, a lack of motivation nor a lack of remembering that this blog fell silent eight months ago. Simply put, I just needed a break.

I had immersed myself in Holocaust research for over a year before I started this blog. My mind was spinning and my emotions reeling after the first few months of blogging. There was just so much material to cover, so many sad stories, and so much wasted humanity. I had a good friend warn me that study of the Shoah would have a devastating effect on me and it did. I had to put down the books, the pictures, the documentaries and the computer for awhile. I needed to get away from the gruesome reality of what took place in my grandparent’s generation. It was for my mental and emotional health that I took a brief hiaitus.

Well, a couple of months turned into a couple more months, and now here we are in August. I have checked in on the blog to be sure it was still receiving visitors and providing good historical information on the Holocaust. I approved a handful of waiting comments. I have received communication from survivors willing to be interviewed for the blog. And as I’ve stated above, there have been constant reminders, the most recent of which was the NBC docudrama “Who Do You Think You Are?,” featuring the family history of Lisa Kudrow (actress).

After I saw the show a few days ago, I knew that it was about time to revisit the blog and get back to posting, so here I am. I cannot promise the same level of activity from last fall, but I will do my best to keep this thing alive for posterity’s sake. I will continue to echo the refrain of survivors, their children and grandchildren, and concerned human beings all over the world, “Never Again!”

Thank you for your patience.

2 Responses to “Absence of posts”

  1. Thank you for this blog! Every survivor’s story must be told! Every generation must remember! I am a 2G of a survivor and have published my father’s riveting story!

    Please help get this story out!

    I hope all stories get out before all the survivors are gone!!

    My father’s memoirs are available on Amazon (within the US):

    Outside of the USA:

    https://www.createspace.com/3659575

    We must never forget!

  2. Friend You have accomplished well. by your blog. . In fact, I use all the time the profile you made for my experience as a teenager survivor.e your feelings,and indeed, I have concluded that my writing about my experience in articles in the United States, Belgium and Germany, has been a carthasis. In fact, today, I have posted in the New York times, your blog site’s excerpt of my profile. See:

    Source: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/12/28/opinion/honoring-all-who-saved-jews.html?comments#permid=108

Leave a comment